Rather annoyed

I love looking at the photographic art shared via Google Plus. In fact, I have 1396 people to select from if I browse my Photog People Circle! What annoys me is the fact that there are people on Google Plus who display wonderful photos, but the photos have been taken by a third party.

The person who annoys me most is Nasrin Mohebbian, who posts many photos per day. Sure, some of them are reposts and so have the name of the original artist on them. Other posts can only be traced to their owners via url links on the images themselves and others are very difficult to trace except by performing a Google Image search.

I have reported this behaviour, but with only temporary results. Also, I have had an exchange with Nasrin about acknowledging the true artists, but that hasn’t made her change her practice towards always naming the person.

Today Nasrin posted a lovely set of images of autumn-toned roses, without naming the original artist. I managed to trace the owner through a Google Image search, arriving at *lieveheersbeestje on deviant.art

Here is *lieveheersbeestje’s photo Autumn Morning:

Autumn Morning

Isn’t that beautiful, gentle and finely executed? If I had taken that photo, I’d want people to know I had and I’d hope a few people might like to buy a copy to display, or as a card. Nasrin hasn’t entertained this possibility as she has made it too hard for the average viewer to reach the source.

What do you think of this sort of behaviour?

3 thoughts on “Rather annoyed

  1. Don’t like it at all.

    Although these people often don’t say outright that they took the photograph, the implication is certainly there. A simple credit to the photographer would make the collecting so much more a curation.

    Now what really pisses me is people who sell other people’s photos and tshirt designs … but that’s a whole ‘nother story!

  2. Have to agree with Cathie. It is abhorrent behaviour, but so hard to police.

    I am noticing more and more photographers are watermarking their work – right through the middle or next to the main subject of the image. It seems to be the best we can do.

    I plan to make similar noises in the timeline of other ‘artists’ (who are clearly not the original creators) of similar activity.

Leave a Reply

