Headphone use can produce odd effects

This ain’t about getting high-frequency hearing loss! It’s about loss of consciousness, I think!

Now, it’s not me who uses the headphones in question- it’s Spotrick. He uses them to spare me from hearing his choice of music when I’m either studying or snoozing, which is very considerate. However… sometimes he just uses them when I am in the same room and haven’t got a headache or anything – maybe he’s trialling new stuff on Amazon or YouTube, maybe something someone else has recommended.

What gets me is that he’ll sit there, fully aware I am around (?or maybe he isn’t?), when he suddenly breaks out in tuneless whistling, mangled song or makes comments like “Hey!”, “Yeah!“, “mumblemumblemumble”. When I show him I want to say something to him, he’ll take one ears-worth of headphone off and listen. Then he’ll SHOUT A REPLY!! He continues to shout, thinking he is talking at a normal level, unless I interrupt several times and say “Stop shouting” or “I can hear you perfectly well”. No matter how many times this happens, he continues to shout as though he can’t tell that the headphone sound isn’t competing with his voice! What’s really revealing is that his whole breathing pattern and muscular effort of talking is quite different from normal- he is really pushing that air through with his diaphragm and making vocal effort! I’m sure he should notice this and realise what he sounds like, but he doesn’t seem to.

Surely this isn’t part of that “anti-social behaviour” trend we see with some people who wear their iPod earphones in public/at work and screen out everyone else? I haven’t seen many of them singing or whistling along- but a few do. There has been some disturbance on public transport when people have tried to inform an iPod user that their stop is next and the person lashes out, quite aggressive about being interrupted.

Bus ticket message

Bus ticket message

 

I also found some positive uses for using iPod earbuds- to stop ratbags in dodgy suburbs from bothering you! Apparently it works! perhaps someone should tell Spotrick I am not going to attack him for being on the same couch he is always on!

Ping!! Lightbulb goes on in my head…perhaps he is just zoning out!?

 

Zoning out

Zoning out

One day I’m going to make a recording of him “singing” and whistling and making these daft, loud remarks just to show him I am not making it up, LOL.

 

I did this with a previous partner who used to talk in his sleep like “SleepTalkin Man” of recent fame. Not only did my [now deceased] friend say bizarre things like “Spotty badger! Hairy turkey! Nunga nunga!”, he also told perfectly coherent funny stories mostly suitable for children, although the language could be fruity! There were stories of animal characters who made croquembouche for birthday parties, little tales from his past made into crazy fictional narratives [when cricket bats turned into paddle-pops, eg. “Lumpy‘s got lime”] and adaptations of children’s fairy stories. There was a really nutty one that went on for about ten minutes based on ‘Goldilocks and the Three Bears‘, where Dennis the Wolf threatened to give the little girl a “great big disclosing tablet”! [Remember those things the dentist made you put in your mouth that turned bright pink to show plaque?].

Dennis the Wolf

Dennis the Wolf

What with Dennis and his friend Keith the Gorilla who was an accountant and drove a BMW called “Bartholomew”, there is far more remarkable about that behaviour than Spotrick and his headphones, but I’m wondering if other people see similar behaviour when family members listen to music “in private”? Do tell.

 

One thought on “Headphone use can produce odd effects

  1. Oh yes, I can most definitely relate to this – Stu does exactly the same things with his headphones! I’m glad you mentioned the breathing too because he does that, breathing and eating take on a whole different sound when he’s wearing them. I don’t understand it at all.

    When it starts to get on my nerves I just put my own headphones on to act as a buffer, though we don’t wear iPod headphones, we’ve got larger ones. I only use mine when it’s late and I’m watching something online or listening to my own music to spare everyone else in the house, though I rarely have the volume up very loud.

    One thing that concerns me about people using iPods and the headphones while they’re out is that I recently heard of a case where a young woman was walking home from the train station listening to her music and didn’t hear her attacker come up behind her.

Leave a Reply

