Yet another visit to the gardens…

Spotrick and I were in the Adelaide Botanic Gardens because I insisted on checking the progress of the Amazon Waterlily. I had been there almost every day for 2 weeks and hadn’t caught it in flower. However, Victory! It was out, plus another half-open bud! In the arbour we both paused to do our Twitter365s before we went home to play with our pix. For my Twitter365 pic, I set the camera up on the seat on self-timer and hoped for the best.

Murf17-Twitter365Project

Murf17-Twitter365Project

There were people in all sorts of fancy outfits hanging about- at least 3 weddings were being held in the delightful weather. I sneaked a photo of one, but the others were difficult to approach.

A random wedding

A random wedding

.
I loved the tall, flat Asian-style umbrellas they were flaunting at this particular wedding. All these parties certainly took over a fair bit of public space!

Mr Sneaky has entered the building!

Mr Sneaky has entered the building!

The real reason we went was to catch those gold-danged waterlilies! I adore them, but they have been mighty elusive lately- always flowering the day AFTER I go, or the bud just disappears without showing above water…or maybe Mr Sneaky goes in there and chomps it off! Remember him? He’s a blue heron (Aedea Sacra), I think and could take a sizable chunk out of a bud with that weapon!

OK, so we were pleasantly surprised to find a fully open flower plus a half-open bud in the pavilion and NO Mr Sneaky! We took oodles of shots, with Spotrick getting a fantastic set. I don’t think mine are quite as good due to my camera lens, but still:

Amazon Waterlily -Nymphaea Victoria reginae

Amazon Waterlily -Nymphaea Victoria reginae

It is so awesome in it’s size and the number of beautifully shaded pale pink petals. Plus the scent is good too when it’s not too sunny- like a cross between a magnolia and an orchid, I’d say. I still marvel at the great pavilion they built for it.

After this, we went south to the lotus pond, which is really a small, shallow lake with a sculpture in the middle. The lotuses are so huuuuge! Obviously we took far too many photos of these, also. Incidentally I’m terribly pleased because I just sold a copy of my ‘Sacred Contemplation’ lotus photo on RedBubble.com.au!!
href=”http://www.redbubble.com/products/configure/2687845″> Woot!! First decent-sized print I’ve sold there! Anyway- here’s another shot from yesterday:

Pinkelicious

Pinkelicious

After that we headed towards the duck pond to catch a few ripples and then via Murdoch (Rupert, that is) Avenue, the wisteria arbours and out to get a few shots through the fence railings (I like those) and a peek at the Bicentennial Tropical Rainforest Conservatory. I might finish this later with the appropriate pix! Or it might become part of my collection of unintentionally incomplete posts!

Bicentennial Tropical Rainforest Conservatory

Bicentennial Tropical Rainforest Conservatory

One thought on “Yet another visit to the gardens…

Leave a Reply

