My fave own pix of 2008

Inspired by stephentrepreneur again, I’m showing off my current 12 faves from my own Flickr photos for 2008. If you asked me to pick again in a few days, there would probably be a whole different set, but what the heck! LOL!

For January,

Pink lotus

Pink lotus

it was very difficult to pick as I had zillions of lovely shots of things from the Botanic Gardens, plus all the other stuff. However, this one looked so simple and pure that it won me:

For February,

Cobalt

Cobalt

there was a real conflict as well, because I had a lovely trip to the zoo, using Spotrick’s new Sony Alpha SLR camera, with my Flickr friend Esther (Off beat Mum). However, this brilliant blue got the better of me, with this darling otter coming a close second:

Want fish! Want fish!

Want fish! Want fish!

For March, the startling heatwave inspired this (also part of my ‘A Glass for 365days’ series):

As for April , this won

Late magnolia

Late magnolia

The flower, just on the turn, caught my eye when I was out walking for a bit of exercise with no camera. So I scuttled home and came back- it’s only a few hundred metres up the main road (Duthy St, Malvern) from our place and the people sell outdoor furniture and decor. The magnolia was a really late flower (I don’t usually see many after January here) and the rustic corrugated iron roof looked really unusual behind it.

For May,

Oh such a lonely man

Oh such a lonely man

I was getting into a pretty melancholy phase myself, so when this showed up on the camera from a night when I snapped randomly from the car while Spotrick drove home from a dinner in town, I immediately thought of the title- derived from the song, of course:Shadow of a lonely man; and the lyrics: http://lyrics.doheth.co.uk/songs/alan-parsons-project/pyramid/shadow-of-a-lonely-man.php

Getting into June, I was going on regular walks around the neighbourhood to try to keep myself alive! therefore, a few photos emerged, although not as inspired as maybe other months. Here’s one:

Sunset through birches

Sunset through birches

I didn’t have to go far- about three steps past the front door where the birches were bare and showing weeping catkins while the sun was doing a colourful show through a bank of clouds out on the gulf.

As I got to July, I was struggling quite a bit; photography was my only therapy I think, so I chose this one:

Mandarin glass

Mandarin glass

I was trying to revive my Glass-a-day series but didn’t really get re-inspired for long- must continue that one day- perhaps today!! This is probably an indoor shot because I stayed indoors all July! Anyway, I like it!

For August, I had to scrape the bottom of the barrel for photographic inspiration as the gardens were bare nearly everywhere, our backyard was bleak and I was getting back to uni. for my Ethics course, so head buried in books compulsorily for some period each day. However, a plague of furry caterpillars forced me into the yard and provided the subject of this photo:

Hey- snack off, OK?

Hey- snack off, OK

He was furiously munching on the only ‘flower’ in the yard- the poor, beleaguered calla next to the pond/fountain. When I finished taking a few shots I squashed him thoroughly! What a heartless sadist!!

For September, there was suddenly a plethora of photographic subjects, what with all those danged flowers (sorry guys, but I figured the flower-haters will have logged off ages ago!). This photo won me today, but it could have been any of dozens:

Pure beauty

Pure beauty

I love this photo too, because I grew the tulips and anemones from bulbs I had refrigerated in February. They were awesome, even though I say so myself!

For October, the flowery feast continued

Amazon waterlily rising

Amazon waterlily rising

with the Amazon Waterlilies at the Botanical Gardens starting to flower properly again. Whole hoards of Adelaide people and tourists flock to this attraction- the new waterlily enclosure/glasshouse is an architectural marvel and the care that has been taken in reflecting the lily’s characteristics in the decorative details is impressive. There is one little extra pic from the home garden I’d like to include here:

Last anemone

Last anemone

The last of the spring bulbs was being batted at by certain felines, who were threatening to destroy it before the weather did. Luckily I got inspired enough to dash out and rescue it!

For November, I was so caught up in my Ethics classes that I didn’t get out much, so this gorgeous lady

African gorgeosity

African gorgeosity

was snapped surreptitiously at Cibo cafe while we sipped our espresso. I had to fire the camera without flash through someone’s arms and capture her mid-gesture. I think she looks terrific, despite the faulty lighting and such!

Lastly, for December, nothing much got photographed besides silly people at parties! On the 28th we had a lovely trip to the Wine Centre and Botanic Gardens, making up for the artsy deficit!

Paws paws paws

Paws paws paws

These kangaroo paw flowers (Anigozanthos), a cultivar of an unusual native plant, were blindingly brilliant in the Mediterranean Garden section of the Gardens. While I already have the December quota, the year culdn’t end without a Christmassy shot, so here you are- I love mooses!!

Chrismooses

Chrismooses

Spotrick was horrified by the dirty windows, but it looks like snow to me!! So there we are- a year in Murf Photos. I can hardly wait for 2009!!

11 thoughts on “My fave own pix of 2008

  1. Pingback: I Started A Meme! « stephentrepreneur

Leave a Reply

