Onwards and…

After the downer of Friday, Saturday perked up a bit after I treated myself to a new yarn magazine. All the patterns and www links are keeping me amused for quite a while. We are still sorting things out re our FlickrSA photo exhibition. We had taken ages to draw up wall plans etc of the venue so we could arrange the photos artistically; then we had been allocated half the space we thought we had; after getting 3 people together from all over town to do the final hanging scheme, we now have been asked to arrange the pix on 2 walls only, as a collage. Crikey! People are still disagreeing about things so trivial it makes me sick and its all just an amateur show- supposed to be for fun! People! I managed to get a winemaker to sponsor wine for the show and some people don't even seem pleased. I'll leave it to others from now on. Might not even go to the opening myself at this rate. I've got my glass show opening to go to anyway- they haven't required me to do anything except send in my glass!
My 2-day/week clerical job at the uni comes to an end this Friday, so no more income [again]. I still have quite a few $Ks in debt, so I'll have to find something quick smart! The editing work has dried up temporarily- I suppose the people who gave me the initial stuff are delivering their papers at conferences right now during the semester break. Hopefully they will do more writing during Semester 2 and I can edit that!
Yesterday we went for a drive to the end of the Murray River where it enters Lake Alexandrina before the sea. The ferry at Wellington was still sailing gaily back and forth in plenty of swiftly flowing water, although the depth posts said the river was 1 metre below normal. As we drove alongside the river where we could, there was certainly a lot of reed growth where there used to be water flowing, but the lakes are by far the biggest blot on the landscape now- so dry and mostly empty, even of decent enough depth for seabirds and waders. Personally, I think they should let the sea back in and only have barrages further up the river. The lakes used to be tidal and flushed by the sea, although there was a lot less arable land because of salt seepage under the earth. However, that's what the landscape was like for the original inhabitants, who used to have a largely seafood diet. Grazing cattle on the salty flats is not the natural way to go, and growing crops is marginal in most of the area, except for hardy grapes and lucerne. I think we have to allow nature to get on with things- we are mere interfering little ants in things like the estuarine landscape. We should adapt ourselves- we have intelligence, the river and weather do not!

Leave a Reply

