Nerds endure and create even without support | High Ability

Nerds endure and create even without support | High Ability

Interesting that there is a class of relatively talented people who have this “unselfconsciousness” that makes other people label the “nerds”. It makes me think there may be some overlap with Asperger's syndrome. Althoough I wouldn't say I'm gifted any more, I was considered a gifted child- but definitely not “nerdy”- I would go to all sorts of lengths to hide my abilities and knowledge. I would be labelled the class “brain” at school because I always did well at everything and when I stayed away from school a lot because I was ill, there was the persistent rumour that I stayed away to study, rather than actually being sick. You couldn't have labelled me studious as I never had my head stuck in a school book at any stage!

Blogged with the Flock Browser
Leave a Reply

